Tuesday, 12 January 2016

BMR announce shock Subaru deal

Team BMR have announced they will run Subaru Levorgs in the upcoming British Touring Car Championship season after inking a deal with the Japanese manufacturer.

Subaru's first foray into the BTCC comes after BMR enjoyed a breakout season int he category last year. Jason Plato, who finished as runner up in last year's championship, will lead the team along with 2014 champion Colin Turkington with the full driver line up set to be confirmed in the coming weeks.

"Part of my role when joining BMR was to help secure a manufacturer deal," said Plato. "The iconic Subaru brand has always been right at the top of my wish list. Obviously it goes without saying that I am very excited about our future together and I’m confident that BMR will produce a fantastic package for me to fight for the Championship."

In joining the BTCC Subaru becomes the fourth manufacturer team alongside Team Dynamics Honda, Triple Eight MG, and WSR BMW. Team principal Warren Scott had mad no secret of his desire to align his team with a manufacturer and was delighted to secure a deal so early on in the team's lifetime.

"I am extremely delighted that Team BMR are to become a Manufacturer team in only our fourth year of competing in the BTCC," Scott told btcc.net. "I have had aspirations of becoming a race-winning team with factory support from the very beginning and I am immensely proud of the team for giving Subaru the confidence to partner with BMR."

The team now faces an intense off season as they build, prepare, and test their new rear-wheel-drive Levog Sports Tourer BTCC cars ahead of the Media Day at Donington at the end of March.

No comments:

Post a Comment