Monday, 26 May 2014

Speed tastes glory in Barbados

Scott Speed won the first round of the 2014 Red Bull Global Rallycross season, as fan favourite Ken Block rolled dramatically out of the final.

Block, fast all weekend and the winner of his heat race, led from the start after getting the holeshot but a close battle with rookie Joni Wiman saw the Hoonigan Racing Division driver launch over a curb and tumble out of the race.

After the race was suspended to clear up the wreckage, it was Wiman who launched into the lead. The Finnish driver's hopes of victory were dashed when he had to take a penalty for taking the joker lap twice, a mistake that two-time champion Tanner Foust made in his heat race, consequently barring him from the final.

As a result of Wiman's penalty, Steve Arpin claimed his first GRC podium with second place, ahead of Brian Deegan who finished third - both drivers having made the final through the last chance qualifier.

Behind that pair there was a breathtaking battle between the ford of Nelson piquet Jr. and the Subaru of Severre Isachsen. After much close battling, Piquet eventually emerged the victor of the tussle, coming home fourth. Isachsen eventually had to settle for sixth after getting passed by the charging Wiman.

Rounding out the finalists were Rhys Millen, Patrik Sandell and Austin Dyne with Block classified 10th.

Tanner Foust took 11th in the final event standings, ahead of series newcomer Emma Gilmour and Bucky Lasek.

Image - Alison Padron, Red bull Global Rallycross

No comments:

Post a Comment