Monday, 26 May 2014

Heartache for Castroneves, Andretti as Hunter-Reay takes maiden Indy 500 Win

Ryan Hunter-Reay took his first Indianapolis 500 win in the 97th running of the event, coming out on top after a close battle with three time winner Helio Castroneves and Andretti Autosport team mate Marco Andretti which resulted in the second closest winning margin in Indy 500 history.

Hunter-Reay, the 2012 series champion, took the win following a six lap fight for the the lead after the race was stopped to clear up debris after a big shunt for Townsend Bell. Remarkably, the race went caution free for the first 148 laps.

Carlos Munoz took fourth in his second Indy 500 start. The 2013 runner up finished ahead of 2000 winner Juan Pablo Montoya on what was his return to the event.

Kurt Busch finished an impressive sixth on his first IndyCar outing. The 2004 NASCAR Sprint Cup champion's performance earned him Indianapolis 500 Rookie Of The Year honours. His start marked only the fourth time a driver would attempt to race the Indy 500 and Coca-Cola 600 NASCAR race in the same day.

Sebastien Bourdais finished seventh, ahead of Will Power who led early on but had his race ruined by a penalty. Rookie Sage Karam finished ninth whilst JR Hildebrand rounded out the top 10.

Image - IndyCar Media

No comments:

Post a Comment