Monday, 12 October 2015

Aasbo clinches Formula Drift title

Fredric Aasbo claimed his first Formula Drift title last weekend in fine fashion, winning the final round at Irwindale Speedway and breaking the series' record for most wins in a season.

The Norwegian went into the final round of the season with an 80-point lead and had to win the first contest of the weekend to ensure he beat Scion stable mate Kenshiro Gushi to the title.

After a spin for Kristaps Bluss in the opening round, Aasbo sealed the title, before seeing off the likes of Daigo Saito - who had not been beaten at 'The House of Drift' for the last three years, 'Mad' Mike Whiddet and Forrest Wang.

The final saw the 2014 runner-up face off against Gushi and although the championship crown was already secured, Aasbo put on a fine performance to claim his fourth victory from seven rounds - a series record.

The previous record for most wins in a season was three, held by both Samuel Hübinette (2004) and Daigo Saito (2013).

"These championships aren't just mine. I owe a lot to Steph, the team and our sponsors including Rockstar Energy Drink, Hankook Tire and Scion Racing," said the victorious Aasbo. "I'm grateful to have this amazing group of people behind me."

Team owner Stephan Papadakis paid tribute to the team who signed Aasbo as a rookie in 2011 and started developing their now triumphant Sciot tC drift car in the same year.

"I love to build things that other people haven't built before and to trail-blaze. It has been a progression to get here to the top with Fredric and the Rockstar Energy Drink / Hankook Tire Scion tC and to have all of our hard work pay off in this championship is a real validation of what we've been trying to do," he said. "I'm thankful to our sponsors for believing in us and designing such amazing products that help us with our reliability and competitiveness."

As well as scooping their first driver's title since back-to-back wins for Tanner Foust in 2007 and '08, Papadakis racing's partners Scion and Hankook took home the manufacturer and tire cups.

Images: Larry Chen

No comments:

Post a Comment