Saturday, 6 June 2015

Speed Takes Gold in Incredible X Games Final

Scott Speed took his third X Games gold medal in as many years in what will go down as one of the most dramatic motor races of the year.

After a number of big names, including Ken Block and Travis Pastrana got eliminated in the Heats, the final consisted of Scott Speed, Brian Deegan, Andreas Bakkerud, Sebastian Eriksson, Steve Arpin and Tanner Foust.

Speed got a perfect launch but was forced back at the first turn as Bakkerud and Deegan pushed through with Eriksson sliding round the outside of the first turn.

Deegan had the lead out of turn one, with Eriksson and Speed in pursuit. Eriksson found his way past at the next corner, with Scott Speed following not long after.

The battle for the win was on between Eriksson and Speed, Deegan finished the first lap in fourth after loosing third to Bakkerud.

At the end of the second lap Bakkerud and Deegan muscled their way past Speed as Eriksson continued to extend his lead. However, the move left Bakkerud with three wheels on his car, dropping him out of contention

Speed once again passed Deegan for second but Deegan kept on the Andretti Volkswagen driver's tail, taking chunks out of his bumper in the process.

As Eriksson took the joker lap, Speed got ahead and began to work at building a gap for when he took the joker.

At this point, Steve Arpin emerged from practically nowhere to pass team mate Deegan for third.

Sebastian Eriksson lost a tyre at the end of lap six, but continued to race. The puncture allowed Arpin to pass him for second and Speed to maintain his lead after taking the joker.

Arpin then set out to hunt down Speed but was unable to take the lead as Speed crossed the line to take his third X Games gold medal in three years and the Volkswagen Beetle's first main event victory.

In second, Steve Arpin took his first X Games medal with Silver. The medal was also Chip Ganassi's first X Games medal. Sebastian Eriksson held on for third and Bronze, Brian Deegan coming home fourth as Andreas Bakkerud and Tanner Foust, who didn't make it past the first lap, both retired.

Image: X Games

No comments:

Post a Comment