Friday, 17 October 2014

Superb Sverre wins for Subaru in Seattle

Sverre Isachsen clinched his maiden Red Bull Global Rallycross win, and the first for Subaru as the series made a long awaited return to Dirtfish rally school in Seattle.

The Washington venue, which last hosted a Red Bull GRC event in 2011, offered up several new challenges yet to be seen this season, including a quick blast indoors through the old planer building, a remnant of the site's previous life as a lumber mill.

Now a rally school, Dirtfish is known as being deep in Subaru country, making Isachsen's win in front of the droves of Subaru fans that bit sweeter.

In the lead up to the final, a condensed schedule saw Ken Block, Joni Wiman and the ever-improving Rhys Millen walk away with the heat wins with Block and Wiman also scooping the semi finals. Tanner Foust won the Last Chance Qualifier to ensure that the new Beetle GRC made it to another final.

In the final, Isachsen never looked like relinquishing the lead after moving to the point early on after pole sitter Block hit a wall as he went to take the joker lap early on. The incident also wiped out Foust straight away.

Reigning GRC Lites champion Joni Wiman battled back to claim second place. His third consecutive podium finish ensured that he goes into the final round in Las Vegas with the championship lead.

Completing the podium was series returnee Brian Deegan. The Nebraska Native, who is dividing his time between Red Bull GRC and off road trucks, had to fight hard with championship contender Nelson Piquet Jr.  for the position, the Brazilian eventually settling for fourth with Rhys Millen completing the top five.

Championship Challenger Scott Speed was next up in sixth, ahead of Patrick Sandell and the returning David Higgins.

The Manx driver, who last raced in Red Bull GRC in 2012, was behind the wheel of a third Subaru Impreza alongside Bucky Lasek and the victorious Sverre Isachsen. It wasn't an easy weekend for the six-times Rally America champion who, despite showing strong pace, was blighted by bad luck throughout the weekend.

The first lap incident saw Block and Foust classified ninth and tenth respectively.

Attention now turns to November's season finale in Las Vegas. Just 29 points cover the top four drivers in the championship with Joni Wiman, Ken Block, Scott Speed and Nelson Piquet Jr. all in with a shout of becoming the 2014 Red Bull Gobal Rallycross champion.

Images: Alison Padron, Red Bull Content Pool

No comments:

Post a Comment